Dear Money,

I miss you

Divina Grey
3 min readMay 22, 2018

It seems like I’ve been a stay at home mom forever now. My kids are the lights of my life, and getting laid off was the best thing that ever happened to me. I’m going to put this out there anyway. I miss having money. I miss making it, spending it, and having some leftover to save.

My husband is amazing and provides more than enough for us. We have everything we need, and I am tremendously grateful for him and the financial security his job provides. The bills always get paid on time; we have a roof over our heads and plenty of food to eat. I have nothing to complain about and feel like such a brat for wanting more.

Some days, I just miss having extra money.

If I’m completely candid, I miss making my own money. I miss spending it frivolously on my kids and taking my husband out to dinner once in a while because I can. I miss buying new shoes when my feet start to hurt without having to budget for them in my Mint app.

I miss not having to think about money so much.

When we decided I would stay home, I was more than happy (and the first) to cut out any extra stuff. I saw the value in being home with my kids when they were little and was willing to sacrifice anything I had to save money each month.

--

--

Divina Grey

Mom 💕| Writer ✍ | Musician 🤘🎸| CNA 💜 | Sporty Spice 🏋️‍♀️🚵‍♀️ | Free Spirit ✌🏳️‍🌈 | Coffee Connoisseur ☕ | divinasrelease@gmail.com 💻📧