Ode to “Ol' Faithful” — My Fifteen-Year-Old Car

It may be time to say goodbye soon

Divina Grey
2 min readMay 21, 2021
Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

I drive a silver 2006 Scion xB. Some would call her a piece of shit; I like to refer to her as Ol' Faithful as I pat her lovingly on her hood.

I was taking the trash cans down the other day, and I passed her in the driveway. I chuckled a little at how well-loved she looked and how much we’ve been through together. She’s keyed all the way down her right side, there’s a thirteen-inch crack in her windshield, and part of her front bumper is missing.

I don’t care. She’s been so good to me.

There are plenty of other dings in her body and stains on her inside from my kids (and their friends).

But I don’t care. She’s been good to me.

I commuted hundreds of hours to work in her and drove dozens of ten-hour road trips like The Little Engine That Could. The most memorable and meaningful was the way she carted my babies around and kept them safe for twelve of those fifteen years. I’ve got no complaints. Sure, it would be nice to have a newer, more atheistic-looking car with Bluetooth capabilities instead of two cans and a string. And there may be a day where I have to say goodbye to her. Or a night where I leave her unlocked with the keys in the ignition, and she’s missing the following day.

I don’t care. She’s been good to me, and I am forever grateful for her loyalty, dependability, and the many memories made with her by my side.

*pat pat*

©2021 Divina Grey

Thank you for your love and support. You Are Loved. ❤

Divina Grey is a ferocious woman and mother rebuilding her life one article at a time. She likes long bike rides, singing and playing her guitar, an electrifying workout, and a cup of coffee so decadent she can feel the frothiness in her bones. Over the last twenty-five years, Divina has stockpiled a collection of journals in an elegant wooden chest and is oozing with gratitude for the chance to share her staggering long-time love of writing with the world.

--

--

Divina Grey

Mom 💕| Writer ✍ | Musician 🤘🎸| CNA 💜 | Sporty Spice 🏋️‍♀️🚵‍♀️ | Free Spirit ✌🏳️‍🌈 | Coffee Connoisseur ☕ | divinasrelease@gmail.com 💻📧